Avonex, Betaferon or Rebif?

A board to discuss the Multiple Sclerosis modifying drug Avonex
Alexandra
Family Member

Avonex, Betaferon or Rebif?

Post by Alexandra »

Dear all,

I hope you can help me with deciding which is the best medication. I am newly diagnosed with MS. It has been a long and difficult diagnosis due to the fact that I do not have typical MS symptoms, except for the optical neuritis. I had the first optical neuritis attack in July 2009 and the second one in January 2010. I have seen three neurologists in Dubai and one in Germany. After many tests they have concluded it is MS, the type remittance relapse. However, none of them would take a decision about the treatment. They all gave me options: Avonex, Betaferon, Rebif or copaxone (the last one is available only in Europe). HOwever, they have recommended either Avonex, either Betaferon on my own choice. I am not a doctor...so how can I decide? I would appreciate your input on this matter.

Thank you in advance,
lyndacarol
Family Elder

Post by lyndacarol »

Alexandra -- You have found a good site for information. I am sure that there is at least one person here on any and every MS drug. Most are willing to share their experiences, but no one will advise you on which one is best for you. You must do the research and find your choice with the aid of your physician.

My personal opinion after trying Betaseron, Avonex, and Copaxone and finding no improvement with them is to go without medication. I do not believe that MS is fundamentally an autoimmune disease; I think that an extremely low carb diet and exercise are more effective against MS.
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Avonex, Betaferon or Rebif?

Post by NHE »

Alexandra wrote:However, they have recommended either Avonex, either Betaferon on my own choice. I am not a doctor...so how can I decide? I would appreciate your input on this matter.