Stents or angioplasty ?

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
dizzyintx

Stents or angioplasty ?

Post by dizzyintx »

I have severe coronary artery disease and MS. I have had stents placed in my coronary. kidneys, and leg arteries. I have also had angioplasty of the same and different arteries. Do we know which is better for the jugular veins (angioplasty or stents)?

My interventional cardiololigist has aggreed to look at my juggular veins, but not to do anything else. (I think he will come around, he is pretty cool). :D

Thanks!
adamt
Family Elder

Post by adamt »

Hi,
I am new to CCSVI so sorry cant give you a confident answer

what i do know is having stents in the jugular veins can be dangeriys, but the risk is slim but its still a risk

whereas angioplasty of the jugular veins is not dangerous but carries the problem of restenosis, which would mean having the procedure done again.

Was just wondering are you from the UK?
If so where is the radiologist who is happy to scan you?

thanks
dizzyintx

Post by dizzyintx »

Sorry I'm from Central Texas and the Cardiologist was having a Carotid Artery Scan done anyway. I think he is just humoring me, he doesn't really think CCSVI even causes a problem in MS patients. I've been bugging him for a year now. The problem is going to be if I test positive, he says he will not stent a vein. :twisted: Thanks!
MarkW
Family Elder

Angioplasty says Prof Zamboni on 14 April 2010

Post by MarkW »

Angioplasty says Prof Zamboni on 14 April 2010. PTA to be precise.

MarkW
Mark Walker - Oxfordshire, England. Retired Industrial Pharmacist. 24 years of study about MS.
CCSVI Comments:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/health/8359854/MS-experts-in-Britain-have-to-open-their-minds.html
shye
Family Elder

Post by shye »

Zamboni says ONLY angioplasty (really, venoplasty) at this point.