How can we design a trial to test efficacy of the surgery?

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
fogdweller
Family Elder

How can we design a trial to test efficacy of the surgery?

Post by fogdweller »

I am not a professional at designing medical trials, and if some reader is, please step up.

In my unexpert opinon, there are two ways you could go. First, you need some objective and measurable thing to test ... e.g. fatigue level if you can figure out how to measure it, or walking ability, or the 6 pin hand coordination method.) I really don't want to test Relapse Rate. That is what all the drug trials did, and none of the drugs slowed progression, and since I have PPMS and have never had a Relapse in my life, this is not attractive to me.)

Then you take a bunch of test subjects and divide them randomly into test or control arms, treat the test arm and do not treat the control arm, and follow them long enough to comare the effect on whatever the measurable thing is.

Or you can treat everyone, and compare wilth historical data.

However, you are going to have some placebo effect on the treatment group, so they can be expected to do better than the untreated/historical group regardless, and I do not know what the placebo effect is. We might have a good number from all the drug tests, I don't know if that would translate over to a surgical procedure.

These are just my quick ideas. What else might we try? Does anyone know what the proposed trials are doing?
1eye
Family Elder

Post by 1eye »

See Dr. Sclafani's topic. He has been wrestling with this, and some good ideas have been suggested. I'm sure yours would be welcomed too. I think he is trying to take the CCSVI victim's point of view into account in his study design. He is doing this on-line dialogue while he waits for IRB approval of his trial.
This unit of entertainment not brought to you by FREMULON.
Not a doctor.