CCSVI versus Past 'cures'

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
PCakes
Family Elder

CCSVI versus Past 'cures'

Post by PCakes »

I am somewhat new to the MS world. The media and the neurological community continually analogize CCSVI to 'bee stings in Mexico' and 'hyperbaric chambers in Florida' ? Is there a nutshell comparison of the reaction in the MS world to CCSVI and these supposed treatments.?. the degree of plausible of CCSVI is very high.. from the lay perspect "it just makes sense" (nothing scientific there.. is my feeling) Was the reaction to the others as high? Was there a placebo response in these cases? and was it comparible to the amazing results we see now?

thanks
Last edited by PCakes on Mon May 31, 2010 6:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Trish317
Family Elder

Re: CCSVI versus Past 'cures'

Post by Trish317 »

PCakes wrote:I am somewhat new to the MS world. The media and the neurological community continually analogize CCSVI to 'bee stings in Mexico' and 'hyperbolic chambers in Florida' ? Is there a nutshell comparison of the reaction in the MS world to CCSVI and these supposed treatments.?. the degree of plausible of CCSVI is very high.. from the lay perspect "it just makes sense" (nothing scientific there.. is my feeling) Was the reaction to the others as high? Was there a placebo response in these cases? and was it comparible to the amazing results we see now?

thanks
I'm very curious about this, too. Not the validity of the supposed treatments, but the reaction of the MS community when they were brought forth.

What causes CCSVI to make sense to my very unscientific mind, is that it's an actual physical condition that can be corrected. Is it genetic? Is caused by trauma? Who knows, and it's going to take a very long time to prove, or disprove, it's connection to MS. But, it's very true that the vascular connection to MS is not a new theory.