relapse

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
robbie
Family Elder

relapse

Post by robbie »

When someone has a bad relapse and then makes an almost total recovery and this recovery lasts for years and years how is this related to ccsvi,
Had ms for 28 yrs,
8.5 EDSS
SPMS, 54 yrs old
Taking it day by day
Quest56
Family Elder

Post by Quest56 »

I'm very new to this, and am still digesting what I've read (and the stack of what I haven't yet read is quickly growing), but, the way I've been thinking about this is that CCSVI is a condition that appears to be treatable and that is strongly associated with MS, but is not necessarily the same thing as MS, and the relationship between MS and CCSVI is still unclear (as in cause and effect).

So, I'm not sure it makes sense to me (at least at this point) to explain the incredible variety of all things MS in terms CCSVI. The immune system is incredibly complex (as is the CNS and the human body), and I would almost expect that the eventual cause(s) of MS (if ever completely understood) may end up being a mix of several things in a chain of events that interoperate: genetic factors, autoimmune, environment, CCSVI, IgG food sensitivities, IgE antibodies in response to external agents, etc, etc, and that more than one combination of these causative factors can combine to form the condition that is currently called MS.
Last edited by Quest56 on Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:47 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Rokkit
Family Elder

Post by Rokkit »

I don't think anyone knows yet, but here's one possibility: the autoimmune response to CCSVI is responsible for the symptoms in a relapse. Once the response abates, so do the symptoms. But the underlying CCSVI is still ongoing.