placebo

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
Sesj
Getting to Know You...

placebo

Post by Sesj »

mrhodes40 wrote:I Surgeries are strong placebos, actually the strongest they've tested in allopathic medicine
This is true of course....

I'm going to Poland for the procedure but sometimes there's a nagging voice in my head which asks:

Could all the positive results of the people who have been stented be due to a placebo effect?

I hope not :(

Excuse the mistakes in my English. I'm from Holland.
ozarkcanoer
Family Elder

Post by ozarkcanoer »

Sesj... Your English is much better than my Dutch !!! Your placebo idea is a very good point. Faith and trust are strong motivators... probably at the root of all the world's religions and the medical placebo effect. I have been injecting Copaxone for two years now and keep feeling worse all the time. I'm told that I should have faith in and trust this drug. It just doesn't make me feel better no matter how much I wish it did.

Everyone (we don't know much about all the Italians that have had the balloon stents) who has reported improvements in their symptoms may have some placebo effect due to the impact of hope. But I think Dr. Zamboni has many patients who have had ballooning for at least a year if not longer. I hope that we will soon learn from Zamboni how his patients are faring.

If there were some placebo that would give me back my life... I would take it.
blitzi
Getting to Know You...

Re: placebo

Post by blitzi »

Sesj wrote:
mrhodes40 wrote:I Surgeries are strong placebos, actually the strongest they've tested in allopathic medicine
This is true of course....

I'm going to Poland for the procedure but sometimes there's a nagging voice in my head which asks:

Could all the positive results of the people who have been stented be due to a placebo effect?

I hope not :(

Excuse the mistakes in my English. I'm from Holland.