Anything happening in the Northeast US?

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
tzootsi
Family Elder

Anything happening in the Northeast US?

Post by tzootsi »

Hi, I'm a newbie here, the husband of a woman with a mild case of ms. We live in New Hampshire USA. Anyhow, this whole CCSVI issue has got us very excited, but I can't believe there is no action yet in the northeast even as far as testing. Does anyone have any leads on when things may start to happen up here? We are very tempted to just take the plunge and set up an appointment at Stanford, but a few things are holding us back:
- Maybe something will happen closer by - with all the medical institutions in the New England/New York metro area one of them has got to get on the stick.
- My wife's condition is fairly mild and doesn't really fit any ms category: a heavy right leg, slight weakness in the right arm, slight balance issues. She has been pretty stable this way for quite some time. Maybe we should wait until techniques are further refined, and the 'stent vs balooning' issue is more resolved?

As few more comments from me as a newbie to this forum -
It appears to me that MS comes in many flavors, and treatments such as the CRAB drugs, antibiotics, stem cells, etc, work fairly well on some, but not others. On the other hand diet modification and LDN (my wife does both of these) seem to help most folks at least somewhat. CCSVI appears to be the by far the most promising thing on the table, and the pioneers who have done the procedure have very moving stories. The Canadian video was amazing (I was the person who made Ashton Embry aware of CCSVI) - where is 60 minutes?
bestadmom
Family Elder

Post by bestadmom »

Hi,

Currently there is nothing in the US outside of Stanford, treatment-wise. There is a small group of us trying to spread the word in MA, CT, NY metro area and NJ.