Skipping a Shot Once a Week

A board to discuss the Multiple Sclerosis modifying drug Copaxone
Cammie
Family Member

Skipping a Shot Once a Week

Post by Cammie »

My insurance is refusing to pay for the new dosage of Copaxone of 40 mg. 3xwk. Since my skin is a mess (and I rotate!) and I am running out of shot sites, I have been skipping one shot a week for about three months. It adds up to the same amount of medicine I would be getting if I were able to get the new dosage. Now I am in relapse, but I don't think the skipped shot is the reason. I believe the relapse would have happened anyway. Has anyone had experience with skipping one shot per week?
ElliotB
Family Elder

Re: Skipping a Shot Once a Week

Post by ElliotB »

Perhaps a better question is has anyone had a relapse WITHOUT skipping a shot a week, and of course the answer is yes. DMDs don't totally eliminate relapses, they simply supposedly reduce the number of them.
Cammie
Family Member

Post by Cammie »

This makes me feel better. I really do have to skip that weekly shot. I'm having a lot less trouble on Copaxone than off of it so I guess I'll stick with it.
Loriyas
Family Elder

Post by Loriyas »

I skip a shot often. Probably average once every week to 10 days. I agree-when you skip a shot once a week when doing daily injections you are receiving the same amount as the new 40 ml. / 3 times a week. So to me it is the same. I think if you are having a relapse it most likely doesn't have anything to do with skipping a shot. Just my opinion.
Cammie
Family Member

Post by Cammie »