Student loan questions, please help

A forum to talk about the general challenges of daily life with MS.
ShakyJay
Getting to Know You...

Student loan questions, please help

Post by ShakyJay »

So I am not going to go into too many details, but I will give a brief overview of my problems, hopefully someone can help with my problem.

I went to culinary school down in Texas, graduated with honors got offered a great job making a great salary, packed my bags went to graduation, three days later...

WHAM

Diagnosed with MS........

I was told that being in a kitchen was not for me, heat, stress, yada, yada, yada...so now I have a great big student loan, and can not afford the payments as I am not making as much as I would have been if I was a soux chef as originally supposed to be right after graduation. This was a few years ago, so deferrment is out of the question, I have already gone that route, I just don't think that it is fair that I went to school for a degree that I can not even use now. It seems like there should be some sort of clause in there. I mean if a surgeon went to school, and lost his hand in an accident would he have to pay back his student loans? It just doesn't seem right that he should have to pay those back either?

Anybody have any legal experience or know of anything or can anybody point me in the right direction, I have googled everything I can think of and can't find anything.

Thanks,
Wallace-
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Post by jimmylegs »

i think you could still be a chef depending on your signs symptoms and progression to date, and also whether you are open to some of the diet and lifestyle changes that help so many with ms. alternately what about doing something along the lines of dietitian/nutritionist, or food journalism? what if you did the chef thing for a little while, making sure to take care of yourself as much as possible, just to pay the bills, while looking for a more sedate option?