feta cheese----dairy or not?

A board to discuss various diet-centered approaches to treating or controlling Multiple Sclerosis, e.g., the Swank Diet

feta cheese----dairy or not?

Postby bonitamae » Fri Jul 08, 2011 9:56 pm

so we're supposed to be gluten free/dairy free....................is feta considered dairy?
User avatar
bonitamae
Getting to Know You...
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 3:00 pm

Advertisement

Re: feta cheese----dairy or not?

Postby eric593 » Fri Jul 08, 2011 10:47 pm

bonitamae wrote:so we're supposed to be gluten free/dairy free....................is feta considered dairy?


I would say it depends if it comes from a cow or a goat. :)

I should add... in MS, a hypothesis is that a protein in dairy (cow's milk and products) resembles myelin and through molecular mimicry, our bodies end up attacking our myelin.

Another theory is that we have an inflammatory reaction to cow's milk products which is bad for our system to be in a state of chronic inflammation.

Neither of these apply to goat'as milk or products as it has different proteins and is far less likely to cause an inflammatory reaction in the body.

There IS a debate whether goat's milk is considered "dairy", but for our purposes, I think it's fine as it doesn't seem to cause the same reaction as cow's milk. Unless you're allergic to goat's milk. Or the argument is against any animal products at all. :)
User avatar
eric593
Family Elder
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:00 pm

Postby sou » Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:30 pm

Original feta cheese is made by a mixture of sheep's and goat's milk. It contains no cow milk at all. If it does, it is not "feta".
Shortest joke: "We may not be able to cure MS but we can manage its symptoms."
User avatar
sou
Family Elder
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:00 pm
Location: Greece

Postby tzootsi » Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:37 pm

Dairy is dairy - doesn't matter if it's cows, sheep, goats or racoons. If you are following a dairy free diet, eliminate ALL cheeses, yogurts (except non dairy), butter and ice cream.
User avatar
tzootsi
Family Elder
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 4:00 pm

Postby CureOrBust » Sun Jul 10, 2011 4:13 am

sou wrote:Original feta cheese is made by a mixture of sheep's and goat's milk. It contains no cow milk at all. If it does, it is not "feta".
Off topic, but just on a culinary note, I can only find Sheep OR Goats milk Feta (in addition to the hundreds of Cow milk brands).

I was wondering which was the "real" Feta, and now are you telling me neither is? without being a mix of the two (Sheep & Goat)?
User avatar
CureOrBust
Family Elder
 
Posts: 2914
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby zinamaria » Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:01 am

Sou is correct ( he is after all Greek!!). Typically feta is made from sheep's milk, but I guess it depends which country you live in, where it may be mixed with goat's milk....so tasty, but it is all dairy.

It is also very high in saturated fat, which is inflammatory, which is why so many of us stay away from red meat high in sat fat, like lamb.
User avatar
zinamaria
Family Elder
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:00 pm


Return to Diet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Contact us | Terms of Service

cron