Palaeolithic Diet.

A board to discuss various diet-centered approaches to treating or controlling Multiple Sclerosis, e.g., the Swank Diet
Gonzo
Getting to Know You...

Palaeolithic Diet.

Post by Gonzo »

Hi I'm a Newbie to the forum. I had a read through an earlier post by Crispy, a lot of good stuff in it but it is getting a little verbose and the last post to it was in July so I thought I'd start a new thread rather than append that one.

I have been dx RRMS for over 10 years and I have not made any dietary change in that time until recently. I am in relaps at the moment and have few symptoms EXCEPT awful trouble with my stomach and bowel. Pains, bloatedness, flatulence, constipation, bowel urgency, you name it I've probably had it.

I assumed that if it was a direct MS symptom it would pass in time, most of my symptoms come and go to suit themselves, but this one has been with me on and off for the last two years.

I have been reading a bit about diet and decided to give it a go. I will find it difficult. I like my food! But I thought the Palaeolithic Diet sounded promising as the thinking behind seemed logical. It is, as far as I can gather, very similar to the Swank diet.

I have only just started it but I am cutting out dairy products and gluten, specifically wheat, and cutting down drastically on red meat, tea and coffee.

I do not wish to take supplements so I need to continue my research to discover what foods will provide the necessary nutrients

Any suggestions will be gratefully received, and I shall keep you informed of any progress. Any questions I shall endeavour to answer.

I shall probably start a running diary of this on my web site, see below.

:wink:
My Site http://www.mymultiplesclerosis.co.uk
Multiple Sclerosis - A Personal Account
JFH
Family Elder

Re: Palaeolithic Diet.

Post by JFH »

Gonzo wrote:I do not wish to take supplements so I need to continue my research to discover what foods will provide the necessary nutrients