How do I see a doctor sooner?

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.

How do I see a doctor sooner?

Postby asmitty » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:15 pm

Hi,

I'm a 26 year old student dx'ed with MS for two years now; first time on this board... I'm switching to a neurologist closer to where i live. I have to wait two months for an appointment. My previous doctor is out of town, and even when he comes back I don't know what the wait will be; they are unhelpful...part of the reason I'm looking for a new doctor. The problem is I'm having a flare up now. The doctor's(out of town) receptionist said to go to the ER. Of course they are not equipped to handle MS either. Whats the quickest way to get some treatment? Thanks alot everyone.
asmitty

Advertisement

Postby Lyon » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:30 pm

Last edited by Lyon on Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lyon
Family Elder

Postby asmitty » Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:49 pm

I appreciate the feedback. I don't have a general practicioner though, just an individual PPO through blue cross and my student health insurance. All Student health could do was give me an MRI referral. I feel like everyone's giving me the cold shoulder. Other thoughts? thanks
asmitty

Postby patientx » Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:02 pm

Asmitty:

Maybe explaining to the student health service that you've already been diagnosed with MS, that you're in the middle of a flare, that you need to see a neurologist, and that an MRI alone won't help, will light a fire under them.