dry skin????

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
thekid

dry skin????

Post by thekid »

I know this is silly but does anybody out there have dry skin on their face or anywhere else like my dad..it's really extreme. All around in nose and on his forehead, he figures this was a starting symptom for whatever he has, I believe it's MS as every symptom points to this...but I'm no doctor. Just thought I'd ask if skin irritations can go along with this disease as well???
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Re: dry skin????

Post by NHE »

I haven't heard of dry skin being related to MS. One thing you could try is omega-3 fatty acids from fish oil. Try to get 2g/day of DHA + EPA combined. These omega-3's are good for the skin. They also help reduce inflammation. If the dry skin problem persists, then you might consider seeing a dermatologist. Sometimes in winter my hands get very dry. I like to use the unscented version of Neutrogena's Norwegian Formula hand cream. It takes a while to absorb into the skin so I put it on my hands before I go to bed at night.

NHE
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Post by jimmylegs »

is it dry skin with any redness/open sore-like aspect? dry skin can be related to an inflammatory process. i would look at zinc which is important for the immune system and is also on the low side in ms patients. omega 3s are important too as NHE says. i went to a dermatologist who said my skin problem was one thing, that it was too complicated for nutrition, and she gave me prescriptions which i didn't fill. some time after, i discovered and corrected my zinc deficiency and a whole bunch of problems resolved, including some persistent dry skin with sores that had failed to heal up for ages.
active members shape site content. if there is a problem, speak up!
use the report button to flag problematic post content to volunteer moderators' attention.
Leonard
Family Elder

Post by Leonard »