MS mom needs medicine

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.

MS mom needs medicine

Postby Hedaya » Fri Jun 12, 2015 1:54 am

Dear all,

First of all I want to express my admiration for your courage in facing MS and your kindness in supporting the patients.

My name is Hadeel and I have created this account on behalf of my mother "Hedaya" who has been diagnosed with MS in 2007.
We are Palestinians from Gaza, but my mother lives in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and I am currently studying in Germany.

In July 2014, my father (59 years old) lost his job in the UAE and he had to leave it. However, my mother (50 years old) is still in the UAE with an expired residency permit. She couldn't leave with my father because the aggressive MS made her so weak and she cannot move easily (she is now on wheel chairs and she has catheter). Because of the residency permit issue, she is not allowed to be treated in the hospitals and insurance companies refuse to cover her.

We have taken loans to buy her medicine (Gilenya) which will finish again in two weeks and we have no idea what to do next. It costs 11,000 AED (~3000 USD) per month and it is just way more than what we can afford.

I have contacted all MS and charity organizations in UAE (e.g., red crescent and MS support group) and they all refused to help without a legal residency permit. I had also tried with German and international organizations, but all replied saying I should look for local help as they don't have access to UAE.

We thought of taking my mother to Gaza, but as you know Gaza has no medical basics and when we asked about her MS disease they said there is no chance for her to get the medicine in Gaza!

Please help my mom :sad: , to whom should we go? who can help us?

Thank you in advance and have a great day!
Hedaya

Advertisement

Re: MS mom needs medicine

Postby lyndacarol » Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:55 pm