Normal-appearing brain isn't normal

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
TwistedHelix
Family Elder

Normal-appearing brain isn't normal

Post by TwistedHelix »

Newer imaging techniques reveal that normal-appearing grey and white matter actually do have abnormalities in MS brains, although I'm not sure exactly what those 'abnormalities' signify...

PubMedtinyurl

Dom.
Loobie
Family Elder

Post by Loobie »

Whoa, I had to read that three times. That's very interesting; thanks Dom. The first thing I thought was 'who cares'? But then I thought that this may be one more piece of the puzzle. They are getting a better "microscope" with this new technology. Studying something they hadn't seen before could lead to all kinds of new directions. This is really exciting when you think about it.
ClancyPavillion
Getting to Know You...

Post by ClancyPavillion »

Keep in mind I'm a newbie and not as well educated on this as I should be... (a lot of times when trying to understand this disease I make "common sense leaps"... however, I find out more and more that this disease often defies logic)

If we are assuming that normal-appearing grey and white matter are infact often abnormal in MS patients, does this mean that there is a large possibility that A LOT of folks with chronic MS-like symptoms are being misdiagnosed? (with or without Obands in spinal tap) Is it possible for them to have no focal white matter lesions and still have the abnormal grey and white matter?

I hoped it would feel like some kind of miraculous recovery when, after 6 months of treatment I went from 27 "active" white brain lesions to only 5 of the larger ones. And yet... I still felt as sick as I did when I had 27. I don't understand this disease yet... YET!
"Some women aren't meant to be tamed... we are meant to run free until we find someone just as wild to run with"
Lyon
Family Elder

Post by Lyon »