Copaxone for ppms

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
mickb
Family Member

Copaxone for ppms

Post by mickb »

Hi All:

I haven't posted for a while but I was interested to see if anyones neuro is advising them to use copaxone for ppms as mine is? I have a very high degree of confidence in this group. They are researchers and only treat MS patients. It seems they believe that copaxone will provide some level of "neuro protection." This has put me in a quandary because I know the ppms study was shut down because it became obvious it wasn't going to work. I would be happy to try it but I really can't spend the $7000 it would cost me without better evidence that it would alter the course of this disease. I know sometimes they want to try "something" because it's hard to watch people suffer but I have an obligation to my family not to "experiment" with money which might be better spent on other needs.

So... if anyone has any experience with ppms and copaxone I'd sure like to hear about it.

Thanks also to all of you who post often. I read this forum daily and it really helps to know I'm not in this alone.

Thanks
Mick
gwa
Family Elder

Post by gwa »

mickb,

Here is a link to a thread that discusses some supplements that help neuro protection. Some of them have been studied and have scientific background that they do help. Many of us, including me, take some/most of these supplements.

I would not take Copaxone and I have been SPMS for about the past 20 or so years. Before that I was RRMS for another 15 years.

In fact, I would like to see all people stop taking the CRABS and then maybe the drug companies would get on the stick and find some drugs that actually work.

http://www.thisisms.com/ftopict-4227-tumeric.html

gwa
mickb
Family Member

C for ppms

Post by mickb »

Hi GWA: