Greetings from an Italian researcher

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.

Greetings from an Italian researcher

Postby italianphil » Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:06 pm

Hello everyone. Let me start by saying that I do not have MS. But I am a researcher, working on immunology for years. I am not a clinician and I've always conducted my research on rodents. I have to admit to you that I was in the middle of a crisis: experiments not working, which make me wonder why I even do research at all. Then I thought of patients, people that may benefit from what I do. I realized that, even if I understand well what autoimmunity is and what immunological mechanisms are involved, I have limited knowledge of the clinical aspects of diseases like MS. Reading through your forum I learned, and I also realized how strong you people are. You really are fantastic warriors. From what I understand the relapse phases of the disease are terrible. Damn it, do you know if there's anything, a test or something that could predict a relapse in order to take action as soon as possible? Good luck to all of you and keep having faith in research. I will.
italianphil

Advertisement

Postby jimmylegs » Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:52 pm

hi phil

serum uric acid levels may be one indicator of disease activity.

normal range 150-350µmol/L (at my lab);
~290µmol/L in healthy controls,
~230µmol/L in MS remission,
MS average ~194µmol/L,
MS relapse ~160µmol/L

i've cited most of these numbers on the Uric Acid page on wikipedia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uric_acid# ... _sclerosis

that said, i don't know what the action to be taken would be, specifically. a patient could take inosine, but in my view uric acid status is likely only one small aspect of a complex web of interactions that lead to and/or predict relapse.
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Postby carolew » Fri Aug 08, 2008 7:00 pm