How can you tell when it's MS or the Meds you are taking???

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.

How can you tell when it's MS or the Meds you are taking???

Postby tt89 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 5:31 pm

Help...Please

I have MS. Recently diagnosed in Feb 2008 after an incident in Jan 2008. I was orginally placed on Betaseron which I toughed out for a few months but could not deal with how sick it made me. I was also on Baclofen and Provigel. As of July I started Copaxone and I stopped the Provegil and Baclofen ( both didn't really do alot for me and I was sick of taking them just to take them).

Recently in the last 10 days or so I have felt at my all time worst in terms of pain, dizziness, lightheaded..and as of 48 hours extreme chills and being so cold my teeth chatter. I do not have a fever at all.

I am in the process of changing Neuro Docs and do not see the new one until August 25. This is tough for me as I'm a Nurse but sad to say I never really knew much about MS. I feel silly at times like I should know more or know better but I just do not about this specific disease.

I'm at a loss as to how to tell the difference between what I'm feeling in terms of is it related to MS or the actual Drug making me sick. I can't believe that people with MS feel this sick every day and suffer this much pain everyday. I'm fighting hard to maintain my life as it was by walking, working, and going about my life. I do rest when needed but I guess what I'm saying ( sorry for not making sense I'm very upset at the moment) is how does one tell if they are sick from the drugs or sick from the MS itself.