Hello from Oregon I am so glad I found all of you

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
thehawk

Hello from Oregon I am so glad I found all of you

Post by thehawk »

Hello saying hello first time on this site, my "future" mother in law has MS and also has Cystic fibrosis so I am new to all of this I would say. I am on here to try to find new or old ideas products that will help her with her everyday life. She is an amazing person, I just want to help her find herself again as she does not get out anymore. If you are in the Portland/Gresham area feel free to PM me as well thanks for your time! Dereck.
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Hello from Oregon I am so glad I found all of you

Post by jimmylegs »

hi dereck welcome to TIMS! i can help with anything nutritional. just had a quick search to see if the CF 'usual suspects' match the MS ones, and found this so far:

Cystic fibrosis and malnutrition
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/ar ... 7679805041
Cystic fibrosis as a specific disease entity has been known to be associated with malnutrition for almost half a century. The importance of the malnutrition in the disease process remains unknown, as does much information about specific nutritional deficiencies in CF. Supplements for children with CF should include extra energy as fat or carbohydrate, a form of linoleic acid that can be absorbed, hydrolyzed protein, fat-soluble vitamins with vitamins A and E in a water emulsion, vitamin B12, probably B vitamins and vitamin C, and trace minerals. Routine measurements of nutritional status, particularly in children with growth failure, should be made at regular intervals and should include a three-day diet record and a simultaneous 72-hour stool fat determination. If fat malabsorption is not controlled by pancreatic enzymes, the use of antacids or cimetidine should be considered. The true role of nutrition in patients with CF will not be known until the appropriate studies are completed.