Newbie here, 16 years with MS

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
PaBuggles

Newbie here, 16 years with MS

Post by PaBuggles »

Hi there, I'm Paul and I live in Ireland with my wife and two kids (8 & 4). i was diagnosed with RRMS 16 years ago today, just 20 years of age. About 8 years ago, my diagnosis changed to SPMS. The only medications I'm on are Lioresal for muscle spasms and vitamin D supplements. I never responded well to any of the interferon, and was not considered a suitable candidate for Tysabri.

My main symptoms are poor balance, reduced mobility ( I need a wheelchair for loong trips), fatigue and muscle spasms. Very recently I made changes to my diet to see what effects this has, and I'm feeling slightly better already. I have to admit, my diet up to that point consisted mainly of biscuits and Pepsi. Breakfast cereals would usually have two tablespoons of sugar added to them, and I would put a plentiful amount of salt on my dinners. For the past month now, I've been eating more fruits and vegetables and have cut out sugary food and drink, salt and as many processed foods as I can. I'm hoping this works, because I've lost faith in the medical profession and have felt very isolated for the past couple of years.

I hope to get to know people here and share thoughts and ideas on the various treatments available.

Take care,
Paul
Visit my MS blog http://pabuggles.blogspot.ie
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Newbie here, 16 years with MS

Post by jimmylegs »

welcome to the forum paul! glad to hear you've started to feel better with some healthier food in the mix!
active members shape site content. if there is a problem, speak up!
use the report button to flag problematic post content to volunteer moderators' attention.
FLJhawk
Family Elder

Post by FLJhawk »

I am sure it will make you feel better, and I hope it will help your MS.