Diagnosis MS

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
87goofy

Diagnosis MS

Post by 87goofy »

Hi I am new to this but have been diagnosed with MS for a year. My diagnosis was made as a complete surprise, I went to ER with a really bad headache and numbness in my left arm. Lumbar puncture and MRI later, guess what I have MS!! Taking Avonex for the last 6 months and a follow up MRI showed no deterioration so I am happy, minimal problems except fatigue and slowing of mobility but then that cold be ageing....... I am just pleased not to be badly affected and thankful that I am able to continue to work full time. Does anyone else out there have minimal problems yet still have MS?
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Diagnosis MS

Post by NHE »

87goofy wrote:Taking Avonex for the last 6 months and a follow up MRI showed no deterioration so I am happy, minimal problems except fatigue and slowing of mobility but then that cold be ageing...
Fatigue is also a side effect of Avonex.

http://www.avonex.com/pdfs/guides/Avone ... mation.pdf
amberfer
Family Member

Post by amberfer »

I feel like I've been blessed with minor symptoms. I went to the ER because I woke up and couldn't walk...but ever since then I can walk short distances without a cane. Long distances I need a wheelchair, but I still feel like my symptoms are minor compared to what they could be - no cognitive problems, eye problems, and it's just hips and below for me, so I can still type just fine! I do definitely have fatigue, but I'm blessed to not have to work, so I can get in my two naps a day! I take Gilenya for my MS which is giving me more headaches than I had before taking it, but it seems a small price to pay, to stave off future worse symptoms!

So glad your symptoms are minimal - what a wonderful way to look at it! Sometimes I do feel mad...but usually I am so thankful, and people probably think I'm just trying to "put a good face on" but it really is how I feel (most of the time!)
87goofy