Sleep

A forum for discussing the unique concerns of senior members of the Multiple Sclerosis "Club."
jaycee
Family Member

Sleep

Post by jaycee »

There's a lot of talk on this site about fatigue, sleeping a lot, naps, etc. My problem is LACK of sleep and NOT being able to sleep. Is that just the old menopause thing (I've been doing that for 10 years) or is MS contributing? When I don't get enough sleep, my MS symptoms are worse but I can't seem to fall asleep and stay asleep at night.
Melody
Family Elder

Post by Melody »

Actually hubby used to be awake most of the night with restless leg syndrome. So during the day he nodded off at all hours through the day. He is 41 years old. Now he started on Lipitor in January so that could have impacted it. He was just diagnosed in January by the way so I also started him on a low fat diet which limits sat fats. We also had him tested for all allergies and have removed even the ones he is slightly intolerant to. I've added ground flax seed(3Tbs) per day as well as a 2TBS of turmeric.Also I'm paying around with different probiotics in food. He is also taking a huge list of vitamins and on July 4 he started on copaxone. It has been the last 2 weeks we have noted he sleeps right through the night and he is down to one nap now during the day. That runs between 1 to 2 hours. The tingling has also gone from his left side and that had been there a year. I'm not sure what has affected his restless leg but he has had that all his life and it is the first time it has gone. Right now I just try to document each change so that later it might all make sense. Are you on any meds that might affect your sleeping pattern?????
Shayk
Family Elder

Post by Shayk »

Jaycee
Is that just the old menopause thing (I've been doing that for 10 years) or is MS contributing?