groundbreaking stem cell research

Discuss stem cells, adult and embryonic, and their therapeutic potential for MS here.
scorpion
Family Elder

groundbreaking stem cell research

Post by scorpion »

mshusband
Family Elder

Post by mshusband »

Hi all. I am so new to MS so sorry if I seem uneducated or whatever, but my wife was just diagnosed and I'm still learning. In fact I'm so new she hasn't even started her meds yet. Though she was diagnosed with RRMS ...

Anyway. I want to ask why stem-cell treatment like the one Dr. Burt is doing at Northwestern isn't widely accepted yet. I mean when 0 out of everyone who had it done has had no progression of the disease years out ... isn't that enough to convince people this works?

Why isn't everyone rushing out to have this done?

Also, again, pardon my ignorance ... but since it's a phase III trial ... if the results of that trial show the same thing do you guys expect it to become common treatment (I ask especially because there are no drugs involved, so they may get the FDA to block it or whatever). I just think Dr. Burt's study has shown so much progress and so much help that if it isn't FDA approved, something is seriously wrong with the healthcare system in the US.

Sorry for ranting, I hope someone can explain it to me though.
chachacha

Post by chachacha »

I am a firm believer in Dr. Burt's protocol. Unfortunately, the first study only had about 20 patients. They had awesome results, but that number is kind of low to prove his theory. He's now working on a larger study which is randomized to track the patients who receive stem cells in order to compare their results to those on the other side of the study who are taking either tysabri or chemo. I believe the study tries to start two people per week. Using that formula, that's about 8 people treated a month. Dr. Burt will need to have a significant number before he can publish again.