If not in a flare-up, will physical exam show abnormal, etc?

This is the place to ask questions if you have symptoms that suggest MS, but aren't yet diagnosed.
blondemom

If not in a flare-up, will physical exam show abnormal, etc?

Post by blondemom »

Hi everyone!
I'm new to a possible MS dx, so please forgive me if I don't use the proper terminology.
My question is, if I'm not currently having an MS flare-up, will a physical exam by neuro still display weakness in limbs, uncoordinated movements, an abnormal gait and other common physical symptoms from MS? Including visual problems.
I feel fine when I'm no having a flare-up, but I'm curious as to if those movement abnormalities can be observed in a remission phase.
Thanks in advance,
Blondemom
RuralLaundry
Getting to Know You...

Re: If not in a flare-up, will physical exam show abnormal,

Post by RuralLaundry »

Hi Blondemom,

It all depends on how well your body can heal up from the damage done during a flare up. I had a bout of Optic Neuritis a couple years ago which never went back to 100% in one eye. At this point 2 and 1/2 years later I'm probably around 90%. It took about 6 months to get from the worst damage back to around 70% and has slowly been getting better since. On the other hand I had what I believe to have been a flare up last year in May, I was getting creepy crawlies all over for about a week, it started getting better and by around 3 days after the 1 week I didn't notice anything remaining. I would say from the Optic Neuritis flare up there were lasting issues but the creepy crawly one there were not (at least not noticeable).

The Neuro should be able to tell if there is lasting damage that has not healed through weakness or coordination. I had these tests on my first neuro visit and had no issues but that was the flare up with eye problems.