Who here has a Job?

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
Jillo

Who here has a Job?

Post by Jillo »

And if you have a job do you have any energy to have a social life at all?

I've been tired for the past 10 years but I've found a way to socialize a little and work a 40 hour a week job ( I was diagnosed about 13 years ago). Lately I'm exhausted all the time. I started Copaxone (40mg) on Monday this is my first time on an MS drug could this be why I'm so tired? Like more tired than I normally am? I had to call in sick on Tuesday because I couldn't get out of bed. I'm suppose to have another shot tonight will the same thing happen tomorrow? Will this fatigue get better over time? will I get used to it and still be able to work?
I've been on modafinil for about 5 years (started at 200mg a day, am now at 300mg a day) this used to help me but is increasingly not working over time.

I recently turned 40 and it was my husband that finally convinced me to get on a drug. My attacks are all foggy brain, balance and dizziness issues with a little ON thrown in for good measure.
My doc says "I can't help you get better if you have a big attack but I can help you prevent one"
My question is: Whats the point of being on a drug that makes it almost impossible to live my life when I could just live my life and deal with an attack when it comes if it comes. Why am I suffering to prevent something that might not even happen? I can't just work and sleep the rest of my life, that's no way to live. Right now it seems like my only choice is that or not work and have much less financially.
How does everyone else do it? :?:
jimmylegs
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Who here has a Job?

Post by jimmylegs »

no drugs personally, and i have worked up to 9 shifts per week since dx no problem. mind you i then blew out my knee which effectively put a stop to that particular pace for the last couple years :D