If have to discontinue Tysabri

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
odin1243

If have to discontinue Tysabri

Post by odin1243 »

Hello, My doctor is concerned about my staying on Tysabri. I have been on it for over nine years, but have been doing well. I am JC positive. Has anyone had ti discontinue Tysabri? If so, what medication did your doctor put you on? Have you had any difficulties?
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Re: If have to discontinue Tysabri

Post by NHE »

odin1243 wrote:Hello, My doctor is concerned about my staying on Tysabri. I have been on it for over nine years, but have been doing well. I am JC positive. Has anyone had ti discontinue Tysabri? If so, what medication did your doctor put you on? Have you had any difficulties?
Hi Odin,
I have no experience with Tysabri. However, stopping the drug has been associated with a condition called IRIS, or immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome. I've linked to a few articles in the following post...

http://www.thisisms.com/forum/tysabri-a ... ml#p212893
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Post by NHE »

While I haven't verified this, Biogen claims that IRIS has only been associated with cessation of Tysabri after PML has developed. If true, it may be best to stop Tysabri well before any PML symptoms become apparent.

https://www.tysabrihcp.com/en_us/home/f ... ssion.html