Elevated liver enzymes

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
conandcait
Family Member

Elevated liver enzymes

Post by conandcait »

Hi there1
I am new to this whole message board thing, but have a question. I am 33 and have had rrms since I was 17-am very lucky so far. BUT I switched to Rebif about 3 months ago, and had to stop Oct 12th due to elevated liver enzymes. From my neuro I am hearing 3 times normal level. I am no rocket scientist, but I AM NOT trying that again!! I have never had this before with any of the other drugs I have taken (Avonex, Copaxone and TY)- Nor have I ever felt this sick in my life!! Insomnia, HEADACHES, a 2 wk relapse ( which usually lasts 1-2 days) Any one familiar with this phenomenon? Thanks a bunch!!
Lyon
Family Elder

Post by Lyon »

I can't say how common it is but it's a known consideration with Rebif. My wife was one dose shy of full titration when her neuro pulled her off due to elevated liver hormones.

Luckily the Tovaxin IIb was registering at the time because as far as my wife was concerned, she was otherwise done with MS treatments.

Bob
conandcait
Family Member

Post by conandcait »

Hi Thanks for your quick reply!
I was on full 44mcg for about 1 month before they got to the stage my neuro was pulling me. Serono said 5 times normal, and you are done with Rebif, but since I was only 3 times normal, they will want to re titrate me.NO NO NO!! I was sent info on the 4 (that I know of ) trials for the orals. Side effect listing looks too scary for a person with minimal problems. I don't even think my neuro has ever rated me on the edss. I go to Mayo in Dec, so we'll see.....
Lyon
Family Elder

Post by Lyon »

conandcait wrote:I was only 3 times normal, they will want to re titrate me.NO NO NO!!
I don't blame you. Your liver function is too important to take chances.