Hello, Newbie Here

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
jmh

Hello, Newbie Here

Post by jmh »

Hello Everyone,

I haven't been officially diagnosed yet but have had a lot of changes going on lately and wanted to share with you guys to get some insight from others that have already been dealing with MS for a while.

I am a 50 year old male.

In late 2012 I was having tinnitus in my left ear, headaches on the left side of my head, some coordination issues with reaching for things and hitting the shelf instead. My GP sent me to get a head MRI to check for tumor. There was no tumor but they found multiple lesions.

I saw a neurologist and he explained that the main reasons for having brain lesions were previous cardiovascular events or MS. I have no known cardio events. At the time I wasn't having any of the major MS symptoms such as problems walking, losing sight, etc. He suggested I could have the spinal tap to check for MS but that it wasn't always conclusive. He also suggested to go into a waiting mode to see if anything new came up then to come back in and see him.

I also had another confirmation MRI done in fall 2013 and it confirmed the same lesions, but the comparison between the two showed no new ones.

Since then I've just gone ahead with life and been more or less ok until last fall. I started having episodes of feeling light headed and then I would get a racing heart beat and some palpitations, anxiety. These episodes seemed to happen randomly with no explanation. In the last few weeks they've become pretty much a daily occurrence and whatever physical symptoms may or may not be contributing to this, I'm apparently now into having panic attacks because of this, fun times.

I'm seeing my GP and he ordered the holter moniter test to rule out any hear rhythm problems(waiting for results) and gave me some .5 mg Ativan for the time being to just help get thru the day. I also have an appt to go back to my neuro but its a few weeks out.