Hello

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
MagPi

Hello

Post by MagPi »

Newbie here, located in the UK.

Diagnosed with RRMS June 2018. Started Tecfidera Nov 2018. Initial MS flare-up at time of diagnosis built over a week to then endure for about 8 weeks before remitting (typical "MS hug" symptoms - full torso, and entirety of right hand side limbs affected after starting in fingers of right hand, with some mild pins and needles in sole of left foot and tips of left hand fingers at peak of the flare-up). MRI revealed lesions at C2 in cervical spine. Remission brought retreat of symptoms except for still-current residual symptoms to varying intensity and distribution throughout right arm and hand. Started on Tecfidera Nov 2018 - thus far with no side effects other than occasional (about twice a week) flushing as seems fairly common. Also taking Vit D as indications were that Vit D levels were borderline OK; and, frankly, access to sunlight and natural Vit D in the UK climate is not the best for most of the year. Four months after starting Tecfidera (and 10 months from initial diagnosis), sometimes the residual symptoms are barely noticeable and limited to mild numbness in fingertips of right hand; other times the intensity is fairly pronounced and experienced throughout my right hand arm up to the shoulder.

Nil known family history of MS. I'm in my 50's, so, by all accounts, a rather late onset.

So I'm still trying to learn how MS is affecting (and will in future affect) me and found this site by chance.

Glad to have found it.
Zyklon
Family Elder

Re: Hello

Post by Zyklon »

Welcome ;)

Good diet, dealing with mineral/vitamin deficiencies, some exercise. If you take D3, please take it with magnesium. In my experience, magnesium level effects us much more than non-MS people.

Take care
Pain! You made me a, you made me a believer, believer
Pain! You break me down, you build me up, believer, believer