meat - How does it work?

Tell us what you are using to treat your MS-- and how you are doing.
mevrouw

meat - How does it work?

Post by mevrouw »

Hi All,

I am new to any of the diets that exist to MS and am hoping that any of you can help me to explain eating of meat. If meat would be bad for MS, what is the underlying mechanism? Is it just the saturated fat, or are more mechanisms playing a role?

Thanks so much
EricDrake
Family Member

Re: meat - How does it work?

Post by EricDrake »

Hi,

As far as I know meat itself is not bad but you should avoid fatty meat, I think the most important aspect of those diets is to stay healthy and fit which is really useful when you feel fatigue and weakness ( it really matters that how much weight you carry when your legs are weaker a bit) and also helps your immune system to work correctly and don't overreact. Of course I am not an expert but based on the articles I read thats my opinion.
EricDrake
Family Member

Post by EricDrake »

Ah and I forgot to mention but these diets are also very important/helpful if you have bowel issues.
Scott1
Volunteer Moderator

Post by Scott1 »

Hi,

I don't know where you got the idea that meat was bad for you! We can break it down into grain fed, corn fed, hormonally assisted, antibiotic aided, organic, wild, grain fed grass finished and so on. They're all meat so take your pick. Compared to nonorganic crops, high fructose syrups, refined sugars, artificial sweeteners, trans fats or hydrogenated oils, the meats mightn't be that bad after all.
No matter what you eat, food that is local and close to natural is probably the best to go for. At least you know what it is.
Perhaps Terry Wahls book "The Wahls protocol" might be a good place for you to start. At least she has documented the use of food in combating MS. Be prepared to eat animal product, in particular offal, if you choose to follow her lead.