Ocrevus

Tell us what you are using to treat your MS-- and how you are doing.
ebrownkirkland
Family Member

Ocrevus

Post by ebrownkirkland »

Hi there. My husband was diagnosed with RRMS back in May, but now the doctor thinks he may have PPMS. He suggested that we look into Ocrevus. I have been reading about it a little and it sounds scary (could cause cancer, could lead to death), but it's the only MS drug out there that treats PPMS. Anyone have any experience with it?
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Ocrevus

Post by NHE »

ebrownkirkland wrote:Hi there. My husband was diagnosed with RRMS back in May, but now the doctor thinks he may have PPMS. He suggested that we look into Ocrevus. I have been reading about it a little and it sounds scary (could cause cancer, could lead to death), but it's the only MS drug out there that treats PPMS. Anyone have any experience with it?
I have no experience with Ocrevus, but a good place to start is to read the Prescribing Information. Be sure to look up any words you don't know. The Free Dictionary has a medical dictionary available which works well.
Anunymouse
Family Member

Post by Anunymouse »

I've been on it for over a year. I'll be on my 3rd dozen in October. My Dr says there is nothing new in regards to the cancer risk and the number of people in the study that did get cancer was not out of the norm for the regular population. He says he has seen a good response with the patients he has on it.
Kheuer
Getting to Know You...

Post by Kheuer »

ebrownkirkland wrote:Hi there. My husband was diagnosed with RRMS back in May, but now the doctor thinks he may have PPMS. He suggested that we look into Ocrevus. I have been reading about it a little and it sounds scary (could cause cancer, could lead to death), but it's the only MS drug out there that treats PPMS. Anyone have any experience with it?

I'm 5 months post first infusions. They have no idea what type MS I have.