Frustration with walking

A forum to talk about the general challenges of daily life with MS.
lostgrl85

Frustration with walking

Post by lostgrl85 »

I'm a nurse, so I've always had a job that requires me to be on my feet. About 9-10 months ago, I noticed that when I got tired of walking, my left leg and foot started bothering me. My foot gets so bad that I can't physically move my ankle at all to pick up my foot. As I swing my leg around, I'm basically just slapping my foot on the ground, if I haven't just tripped over it from dragging on the ground, and this movement also causes too much stress on my knee (which has been hurting occasionally the past few months). I just started a new job two weeks ago, and it's at a bigger hospital than my last (although I was only there 4 months and the previous place was just as big as where I'm at now). Between my terrible balance and my bum leg, I am such a hazard to myself just getting up anymore. Yesterday I went to stand up and my leg gave out. This has been happening a lot lately, only yesterday I couldn't catch myself and I fell at work. I lied to my coworkers and said I didn't know how it happened because it all happened so quickly. The honest truth is I think my symptoms are getting worse. I need a new neurologist, and the soonest one can get me in is 6 weeks, after I get a referral from my last one I saw, and it's not easy to get anything accomplished when I call her office. Hopefully my third neurologist will be the answer for me because the first two have been terrible (the first referred to my symptoms as minor when they're not to me and the second totally ignored every symptom I told her about, even when I told her I wanted to do something about it). I've read that regular daily exercise can help you increase your distance, and I've also just started a new low saturated fat diet. Is there anything else I can do to help maximize my walking ability? If anything, it seems this new job has only made it worse. I feel