HiCy in Europe

A board to discuss Revimmune as a potential therapy for multiple sclerosis
Pesho
Family Member

HiCy in Europe

Post by Pesho »

Hello, I'm new to the disease and the forum :(. I'm searching for a cure like everyone else and the things I'm considering are HSCT or HiCy. Just can't find any information for trials or even where to pay in Europe for HiCy. As far as I understand it can be done in every cancer clinic and it is not anything new, just when I asked my neurologists they looked at me strange. Most doctors don't have a clue about stem cells or this treatment, or prefer not to talk about things outside their competence. So, if anyone knows a place in Europe for HiCy please tell me.
Lyon
Family Elder

Re: HiCy in Europe

Post by Lyon »

In your self education process you might also want to look into Campath if you haven't already.

Not trying to sell anything else short because I don't have any personal favorites but Campath and Rituximab have also been used for rebooting the immune system with seemingly good results.

Considering that Campath originated at Cambridge http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alemtuzumab it might open up another or possibly the only option for you in Europe.
Pesho
Family Member

Post by Pesho »

I don't get it. The treatment sounds easy enough, the medicine is known for a long time and even used in MS treatment in lower doses. They combine it with Campath I think, which is also not something new. It sounds almost impossible that no one in Europe in not performing this, even fully paid by the patient. Some doctor's a fiend of mine knows will ask around in Germany, and I'm hoping for a positive answer and price a lot lower than 60 000 Euros, otherwise I will try HSCT in India.
Lyon
Family Elder

Post by Lyon »

I hope you didn't take what I said to mean that it's not available in Europe. I don't know one way or the other. I just meant that considering Campath might open some other options for you.