Connecting the Dots Between Multiple Sclerosis and CCSVI

A forum to discuss Chronic Cerebrospinal Venous Insufficiency and its relationship to Multiple Sclerosis.
North52
Family Member

Connecting the Dots Between Multiple Sclerosis and CCSVI

Post by North52 »

Dear Thisisms,

I am a medical doctor with multiple sclerosis and would like to propose a theory that ties together MS and CCSVI. I did this in point form. I tried to keep it simple but still used medical terminology in an effort to get this out soon. Much of what I have written requires a certain base knowledge but I know many of you on the site possess this base. Please excuse any grammatical or spelling errors as this was written with cognitive deficits during my most severe MS exacerbation. Here it goes:

1) MS is a disease of hypercoagulability that is manifest predominantly at the micro-vascular level (capillaries and post capillary venules) of central nervous system tissue.
2) This local hypercoagulability in the MS population can be a result of numerous factors. The predominant factor is likely venous outflow obstruction from the larger veins that drain the central nervous system.
3) This outflow obstruction of the larger veins results in reduced blood flow and stasis at the microvascular level.
4) Stasis in turn triggers an environment of hypercoagulability and reduced blood flow at the mircovascular level through the resultant activation of the coagulation cascade and though related local cell adhesion factors.
5) Stasis in turn results in local ischemia of the CNS tissue and impaired functioning of this tissue resulting in a number of central nervous system deficits.