Would like to hear from people using Ampyra

Ampyra is a potassium channel blocker that is shown to improve visual function, motor skills and relieve fatigue in MS patients.
suze
Family Member

Would like to hear from people using Ampyra

Post by suze »

Reply to topic in 'general' section:

I have been using it for about 2 months. It's definitely not a wonder drug. I'm really not sure if I am walking any better - maybe marginally. As that research from squiffy stated, I think I would get more or equal benefit from physio.
I think I might go off it for awhile and compare.
When you have a progressive condition like MS, you get in the habit of just coping and enjoying the good things and not spending too much time pondering about what you can and can't do - at least that's what I do!
gymbuff
Family Elder

Re: Would like to hear from people using Ampyra

Post by gymbuff »

Hi All

My third month of Fampyra will finish next week and I intend to take a break and monitor the difference. I did notice an improvement after about a week not in speed but in endurance/stamina. I will post again in a few weeks after I cease taking it.
CureOrBust
Family Elder

Post by CureOrBust »

I used a compounded version years ago and recently tried a month of the Ampyra product. The effects I feel are very subtle, but the results on how much less disabled I feel, are very significant.
mselinida

Been on it for well over a year

Post by mselinida »

I got on it a couple of months after it was approved here in the states, so it may be closer to 2 years.
It's not a wonder drug but I definitely notice it when I'm not on it.
I can even feel it when each individual dosage is wearing off.
But it's not making me miraculously walk.
It's better than nothing.
Quest56
Family Elder

Post by Quest56 »