Just starting to put together vitamins and supplements help!

Tell us what you are using to treat your MS-- and how you are doing.
thisiswater
Family Member

Just starting to put together vitamins and supplements help!

Post by thisiswater »

I'm just beginning to organize my supplements after a recent dx of MS. I want the best quality *fresh* (cold pressed Omega-3, fish and/or flax), etc.

- Which supplements would you buy first, where would you buy them?
- How would you store them?
- And what would you add on as time went by?

I'm trying to start with a few key supplements, which I assume are D, B, Omega 3.

Many thanks, I will write my introduction soon!
Scott1
Volunteer Moderator

Re: Just starting to put together vitamins and supplements h

Post by Scott1 »

Hi,

You have just opened the floodgates! Expect many ideas to flow. Mine are on the 19th December here -

http://www.thisisms.com/forum/regimens- ... 9-225.html

Regards,
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Post by NHE »

thisiswater wrote:I'm just beginning to organize my supplements after a recent dx of MS. I want the best quality *fresh* (cold pressed Omega-3, fish and/or flax), etc.

- Which supplements would you buy first, where would you buy them?
There are several online retailers that I use. These are...

http://www.vitacost.com
http://www.iherb.com
http://www.luckyvitamin.com

There's lots of overlap with what they carry, but they don't all carry the same thing. I probably use Vitacost the most. They have pretty good customer service.
thisiswater wrote:- How would you store them?
Omega-3 oils, fish and flax, are very easily damaged by heat. They should be stored in the refrigerator. I would not buy flax oil from a retailer that does not use refrigeration. Probiotics should, in general, also be kept refrigerated.
thisiswater
Family Member

Post by thisiswater »

So buy the Omega 3 at Whole Foods where they are refrigerated? Fish oil or Flax?
NHE
Volunteer Moderator

Post by NHE »