Relationship advice

For questions on how to support loved ones with MS.
mayprimrose

Relationship advice

Post by mayprimrose »

This is my first time posting on this forum and would appreciate any input/advice/opinions.

So I have been dating a guy on and off for about 2 years now and he has MS. We initially started off as friends and I knew he had MS before we got romantically involved. We have been steadily dating now for about 6 months but the problem is that my family has been disapproving of it since the beginning. I should mention that I'm in my early 20's and he's in his early 30's. They don't approve of the relationship for a few reasons: 1) (As much as I don't agree with them) He has MS. 2) He's much older than me. 3) He doesn't work and lives at home with family. I knew going into this relationship that all these factors exist but it didn't mean anything to me. I had developed strong feelings for him and cared about him a lot. We fell in love and now I feel like we are inseparable.

The relationship has been a rollercoaster due to my family's disapproval and the fact that initially when we first started dating he was having some sort of romantic relationship with 2 friends of his. I found out about them and confronted him and he told me that they were just friends that he dated/flirted with casually. After I found that out my self-esteem immensely dropped and I felt like I needed to win his affection and love. Surely, as time passed he showed his devotion to me although there were many times where I had suspicions about him still being romantic with one of the girls. He'll always deny it but my gut instincts tell me otherwise.