This Is All New To Me

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
wahinewithms

This Is All New To Me

Post by wahinewithms »

Aloha folks!
Just wanted to introduce myself, since I'm new to all of this. I've been diagnosed with MS for almost 6 months now. I went to the ER after my face, arms and hands went numb. My vision was also being affected. It was as though someone was erasing all the colors, and all I could see was white. I was diagnosed after 3 MRI's. After a week in the hospital and 6000ml of Solu Medrol, the numbness went away, my vision began to return, and I was sent on my way home with a bottle of Prednisone. That was rough.
Now, after new MRI's, my neurologist says I have new lesions in my brain, so I'll be starting weekly Avonex injections in a few days. I'm a bit nervous - more of the side effects than the actual injections - but reading all the helpful advice you guys have posted here is already helping me feel braver.
Thanks for all your helpful posts, and any more encouraging words are welcome.

Mahalo,
Brittany
Last edited by wahinewithms on Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scott1
Volunteer Moderator

Re: My name is Brittany & I have MS

Post by Scott1 »

Hi Brittany,

Welcome and I hope it goes well for you.

Avonex reactions are generally described as "mild flu-like symptoms". It can be stronger than that. It can also produce some pretty intense headaches. If you get those, then think about checking for any underlying infections.

Interferon is really a signalling agent to instruct other parts of the immune system to become more active. If you have a bug (that ordinarily wouldn't be an issue) then you can get an outsize response because of the extra signalling.

I'm familiar with the white light response. It does take a while to clear up. The less inflammatory you can make your body the quicker it clears up. That will include the choice of food, sleep patterns, exercise and sometimes medications.