Hello new to board

A forum for the discussion of antibiotics as a potential therapy for MS
mrhodes40
Family Elder

Hello new to board

Post by mrhodes40 »

8O
Gosh, Hi! My name is Marie. I am a nurse and I've had MS for about 15 years. I am about an edss 4. I read pubmed all the time and am into the non autoimmune model for MS (big believer) and am also into antioxidants and other supplements. I also use LDN. It makes me have a sense of well being and improves my sleep but impacted my mobility not at all.

My MS attacked after a week in bed with a URI and a high fever. When I came out of the bed I could not walk with out spasticity and I had obvious arthritis. It was seronegative for 7 years. I developed sciatica about 5 years ago with radiculopathy. All of these things can be caused by CPn or Lyme. I had a large hike in Mt Rainier in shorts (what was I thinking) about 3 months before getting ill. I had lots of bites.
Luckily, I found a local MD who treats MS with abx and I copied and gave her the Whledon stuff and VU stuff. I am very excited to use this regimen.

Oddly, the last time I took an abx for a UTI I had to take Bactirm as I was resistant to my ususal rx. Instead of feeling well on day 2 with a return of energy and sprightlyness, my head ached I was extra off balance and kept hitting the door jamb, and dizzy. Stayed that way until I got off the med at day 7 when I bailed. I had worried it caused an exacerbation. Now I read that bactrim is a med that can kill CPn. I'm thinkin' this is a very positive sign! A little herx!
Does anyone recommend waiting until it's cooler to go through that herx reaction time? How big a deal is it? Are we talking terrible? What helps?