Swank

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
WOWISACOOLWORD

Swank

Post by WOWISACOOLWORD »

Hi I'm Jake and this is my first day here.
Anyone follow the Swank Diet? I have lived on meat for protein all my life for weightlifting & wrestling. I'm not sure I could follow it.
Any opinions are welcome.
Jake
PS Here in my intro if you wish to read it:

Hello my name is Jake. I am in my 30s and I have MS. I am taking rebif.
I was diagnosed two weeks before my wedding. I told my wife to leave me but she wouldn't so we were married and I am so happy with my life with her. We have a 7 month old son Steven Andrew who gives me strength and love.
I was in sales all my life but I went back to school to be a middle school teacher because I wanted something more honorable. I have been a teacher for about 4 years now and I love it. The kids give me energy and drive as I work to make a difference in their lives and shape them as human beings.
I am in the closet with this disease. No one I work with knows or suspects it at all. I am a very athletic guy so they would be shocked. I just needed time for people not to know. I needed to be treated fairly and not have assumptions made about me. This year, I was nominated for two teaching awards and I won one of them (Teacher of the Year). I also got my tenure.
I exercise, lift weights, swim, and go mountain biking with my buddies. My friends keep me strong and active. I was an athlete all my life and my body remains strong and well defined. I know I am fortunate.
My fears are that I will become weak and not able to work or provide for my new family. I fear that when I tell my work about my illness that my students will fear that they will "catch" MS from me. I fear the people I work for will think of me differently than they did because of the MS. I fear that I will not be able to be the active father I always dreamed I'd be to my son.