Question on benign MS

If it's on your mind and it has to do with multiple sclerosis in any way, post it here.
steve7

Question on benign MS

Post by steve7 »

Hello, after 12 years since being diagnosed with MS this is my first time posting to a forum. I wanted to share my story and see if there are others out there like me and if they might have any advice.

I am a male and was diagnosed 12 years ago with MS at age 18. My initial symptoms that lead me to the discovery was slight tingling or numbness in my fingertips. I started treatment on Rebif and have been off and on with Rebif since then. My initial symptoms faded shortly after diagnosis. Occasionally I still might have some slight numbness in my fingertips, but often times it goes away that day or a day later. The severity has also never been as bad as it was when I was first diagnosed. About 5 years ago I had an optical issue that lasted for under a month and has not returned.

Both of my symptoms can be tied to life events where I was heavily depressed and stressed. Also I should note I was smoking at both times during these symptoms appearing which I have since stopped.

I get MRI's done regularly and the reports often show no progression from my previous MRI.

I'm now 30 years old and with Tecfidera coming on to the market, I'm debating making the switch to get away from injections. But that has also started me reliving a question I have had all this time, are my symptoms bad enough to warrant treatment?

I recently discovered a term "benign MS" that seems to describe me. I'm aware its not an official medical term and I can understand why a doctor would not want to risk defining someone as "benign MS". I know it would be a risk to get off treatment but with regular monitoring with MRI's would it be that risky to stop treatment all together? The longest I have gone off Rebif was 3 years and during that time I had no issues and my MRI's were fine.