Newly Diagnosed

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
QTKT

Newly Diagnosed

Post by QTKT »

Hi everyone,

My name is Katey, and I am 18 years old. I was officially diagnosed with MS a month ago. This is my first time on any kind of MS support group/blog.

My MS journey started a few months ago. I was sitting in my college dorm room talking on the phone one Saturday, when the entire right side of my body went numb. There was no loss of motor control or function, but to the touch, everything was numb. I called a doctor friend, and he advised to just watch it, but I did schedule a doctors appointment for that Friday. The next few days, the numbness continued. It wasn't painful, but was very strange not feeling anything on the right side. By Tuesday though, I started to have burning sensations and tickling feelings on the right side. By Wednesday, I was feeling pain in my right hip, tailbone, lower back, and leg. By Friday, it hurt to walk. In the mornings I would be okay, but by mid afternoon I was very tired and in a lot of pain. Something as simple as grocery shopping exhausted me and caused a lot of pain. At my doctors appointment that Friday, my doctor scheduled MRIs and took blood labs. After a few days of this pain and exhaustion, my symptoms resolved. Three weeks went by, and I completely forgot about my symptoms all together, until the day after my MRI. My doctor told me that I had lesions on my brain and spinal chord, and that it was most likely multiple sclerosis. Long story short, many neurologist visits, labs, and MRIs later, I was officially diagnosed.