Feeling overwhelmed

New members should feel free to introduce themselves here
helenw68

Feeling overwhelmed

Post by helenw68 »

I am new to the idea that I may have MS and my ability to cope varies from day to day. I am waiting for a neurologist appointment at the moment. The earliest I can get is in May (I also may be insane with anxiety by then). I had sudden onset hearing loss about 7months ago. The ENT sent me for a MRI to make use there was no tumour. Fortunately no tumour but the found several lesions in the White matter of my brain and advised a follow up in 6 months. Well, I've just got those results and there are "significantly more lesions". My GP is now thinking that the sudden defends may have been a symptom. When looking at the MRI he couldn't believe it was my brain. He said it looked like an 85-90 year old with circulation problems (I'm 46, mum of 4 and I workout at least 5 days a week).
This has led me to think about other things. I have tingling in my lower shin and feet that gets really itchy in spots. I also get this in my hands sometimes.
I had an aural migraine a couple of years ago and get flashing lights occasionally.
Just in the last couple of months I've noticed a tingling in my tongue.
I am often very tired (work full time single mum and train crossfit). An example of being tired is I came home from work today and had 20 mins before I had to leave. I fell asleep within that time.
I have no idea if these are symptoms or what is going to happen.
What I would really like to know is what type of tests will the neurologist do? What should I expect from the consultation? How do I not panic in the next few months while I wait for my appointment.
Thank you for reading and giving me your time.
Helen
ElliotB
Family Elder

Re: Feeling overwhelmed

Post by ElliotB »

Is your appointment with a Neurologist that specializes in MS? Who 'read' your MRI?